What is IPL? | Indian Premier League Format and Rules

IPL Format and Rules

If you’ve heard of the Indian Super League and always wanted to learn more about it, you’ll love this bundle. It will teach you what the entire form of the cricket competition IPL is, what the structure and rules are, how many teams compete for the championship, and exactly how the cricketers are split among the teams. Read the full article to find out more about IPL. What is the entire name of the IPL cricket tournament? So keep reading.

There are several sports online betting sites for cricket https://24betting.com/betting/cricket/ipl  that are both liked and despised by many people. There is nothing more thrilling than winning a bet. However, following a victory, you must make withdrawals. IPL sites provide a simple user interface that enables you to rapidly deposit your winnings to your bank account. The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a famous sport that has attracted several betting businesses.

What is the IPL?

The  (IPL) is now an annual professional T20 cricket event. It was founded in 2008 by the Vice President in reaction to India’s T20 format boom following the national group’s World T20 success in 2007. The first season was a success in India in 2008, and the second season, which corresponded with general election results in India, was relocated to South Africa. For the third time, the tournament was held in India.

When does IPL start in India?

The inaugural season of something like the IPL occurred in 2008, and since then, the competition has been staged each year in March or April for around seven weeks. The 2020 game was supposed to be canceled owing to something like a coronavirus pandemic, but it went forward and was rescheduled for September 2020 in the United Arab Emirates.

Tournament format

●        This IPL 2022 concept is not unfamiliar to an IPL cricketing community. The format was utilized in the 2011 IPL in which there were 10 teams.

●        The ten teams are divided into two groups of five apiece.

●        A random draw was used to establish the groups and also who faces whom for each group once and twice.

●        Each team are playing 14 games during the group phase, facing the other team in its secondary support (at one home and then once abroad), other teams once, as well as the final club twice.

●        IPL Scoring Table: The winning team earns two points. The losing team will not receive any points. In the case that

●        In the case of a deadlock or no conclusion, both parties will be paid.

Following the preliminary stage, a four-round playoff stage is contested using the Page playoff system. The playoffs will include four games:

❖      Qualifier 1: a competition between the two teams who placed or first second in their respective leagues.

❖      Eliminator: between the games that finished third and fourth in their respective groups.

❖  Qualifier 2 consists of the winner of the Eliminator in addition to the losers of Qualification 1.

The winners of Qualification Matches 1 and 2 will compete in the final.

The IPL New rules

●        Each innings in the PL 2022 will feature two DRS.

●        Regardless of whether the batters have crossed or not, the approaching batsman must take the strike, unless it is the last pitch of the over.

●        If any club is unable to locate a suitable playing XI owing to COVID19, then BCCI will seek to postpone the game for a later date within IPL 2022.

●        If rescheduling is not possible, the Indian premier league cricket Tech Team will investigate the situation.

●        If the Super Over or future Super Overs cannot be finished due to unforeseen circumstances, the club that ended better in the conference will be proclaimed the champion.

●        The number of squads grew to ten in 2022, up from eight previously. Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants are new teams.

How many teams are there in the IPL?

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a franchise-based league featuring eight clubs, each representing a different Indian city. When the competition began, an auction was performed to identify the towns in which the teams would’ve been situated, and the owners of each club.

The IPL has ten teams, each representing one of India’s cities. The table below contains the most important facts about the teams.



Home Ground



Season won

Chennai Super Kings


M. A. Chidambaram Stadium

MS Dhoni

Chennai, Tamil Nadu

2010, 2011, 2018, 2021

Delhi Capitals


Arun Jaitley Stadium

Rishabh Pant

New Delhi, Delhi

Gujarat Titans


Narendra Modi Stadium

Hardik Pandya

Ahmedabad, Gujarat


Kolkata Knight Riders


Eden Gardens

Shreyas Iyer

Kolkata, West Bengal

2012, 2014

Lucknow Super Giants


BRSABV Ekana Cricket Stadium

KL Rahul

Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh

Mumbai Indians


Wankhede Stadium

Rohit Sharma

Mumbai, Maharashtra

2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020

Punjab Kings


Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium

Mayank Agarwal

Mohali, Punjab

Rajasthan Royals


Sawai Mansingh Stadium

Sanju Samson

Jaipur, Rajasthan


Royal Challengers Bangalore


M. Chinnaswamy Stadium

Faf du Plessis

Bangalore, Karnataka

Sunrisers Hyderabad


Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium

Kane Williamson

Hyderabad, Telangana


You may gain money by gambling instead of being a lover of this game. At 24betting you can learn more about IPL teams, for example players of Royal Challengers Bangalore.

IPL 2022 Salaries

The Indian Premier League’s new season dates have been announced. But first, franchises spend a lot of money inside the auction or auction before the auction to keep players. Teams can keep a maximum of four players from section one to section four. All teams are given a fixed budget with which to work. The maximum stated salary for IPL players in retention is $2.1 million, with a minimum of $800,000.

the pay cap for kept players depends on the team’s choice of the number of retained players

●        If a team keeps four players, the player purse would be reduced by Rs 42 crore.

●        If a team keeps three players, the player purse would be reduced by Rs 33 crore.

●        If a team keeps two players, the player purse would be reduced by Rs 24 crore.

●        If a team only keeps one player, its purse worth would be reduced by Rs 14 crore.

●        Each uncapped player kept will cost Rs 4 crore.

The IPL Auction

The IPL auction is an annual event hosted by the BCCI in which cricket players are auctioned off to various franchisees. The procedures of this multi-day event are overseen by a specialized auctioneer. IPL franchisees compete intensely for the mentioned players. The auction concludes with a squad for each IPL franchise.

A club can recruit players in three ways: through the yearly player auction, through dealing with the other teams during trade periods, or by signing substitutes for unavailable players.

Players register again for auction and establish their starting price before being purchased by the franchise with the highest offer.

Unsold auction players can be recruited as replacements.

A player may only be traded in trading windows with his approval, with the franchise settling between the old or fresh contracts if any.

There are typically three trade windows: two well before the auction and one following the sale but before the event begins.

At the same time, the squad size should be between 18 and 25 members, with a maximum of 25.